Poems

third eye

okay
so i’m bad at
goodbyes

and the pause that you pressure
is hitting up that girl

you’re crushing on at

a funeral

a scale they use
to weigh the world

but i’ll pack you into

my lungs

while i dance with my
hands full

in spanish

that burnt green of the woods

that magical realism

that excuse
where they bury you

and burn your whole
forest down

i’ll miss you but now i’m
the remainder

comatose on my own time

beeping a little beep that sounds
like a stupid fucking

funny rhyme

so i’ll be a reminder

breaking a stare
some sort of

record holder
because my eyes
were never open

in the first place

self-infliction the color
of a yellow bottle

and a reflection
that coughs in
the morning

and the bathroom
sink is a red
that i ran

asleep at the wheel from

old sacramento to

manhattan

my little ugly
unbound sign of
how we used to

share the same

pretty pile of
lies

i’ve never known a breath
of fresh air

and it took me
thirty-something years

to fix
my faith

the sky is the color

the streetlights
make when they run

down god’s spine

i hurt enough

to rather be

cigarette smoke

that gets in your eyes

and you try to flick it away in your lap—
the ash

and you can’t wave me away

and we crash

Leave a comment